LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Performance Anxiety  (Read 1367 times)

Offline kittykooper

• LGM Member

Performance Anxiety
« on: September 13, 2004, 05:54:01 PM »
I sure can use some help here. I was drafted to play piano for my small local church. I am self taught and until now only play for personal pleasure. Well, I practice long and hard hours and prepare well. I even practice before church. However, when it comes time for me to play, I can't find the notes and can't read the music. I find it is getting worse and not better. I evaluated my situation and thought that perhaps instead of looking at it as "performance" I should look at it as praising the Lord which it is. Didn't help. It was worse. I don't know what to do. I feel like quitting but I know I am capable. Please help!

Performance Anxiety
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2004, 07:21:54 PM »
YOU HAVE TO R-E-L-A-X!!! YOU HAVE MUCH ANXIETY GOIN ON THERE ,AND DON'T NEED TO BE...I WAS THE SAME WAY, ALSO. THE MORE YOU DO THE MORE AT EASE YOU'LL BE...YOU PUTTIN TOO MUCH ON YOURSELF..JUST TAKE A DEEP BREATH AND REMEMBER, PLAYING THE PIANO IS "F_U_N", NOT A CHORE

Offline T-Block

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Performance Anxiety
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2004, 09:01:27 PM »