LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: When to leave?  (Read 3528 times)

Offline Tlove

• LGM Member
    • http://

When to leave?
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2006, 06:26:41 PM »
I am glad this topic is out here because I to am in this place of needing to know whether to stay or go. My reason for not knowing whether to stay or go is different.  It is my Pastor he feels that I am not really a minister of music. I have only been a MOM for two years I came to my church which was not my church at the time just to play the organ and then the current MOM left and went to ATL. So the Pastor asked me if I wanted to take over and I said yes. I had a career in IT but it was my dream to play music fulltime. I left my fulltime job to go into ministry fulltime. At that time he worked out a figure that was close to what I was making after taxes; he did that by not taking taxes out of my paycheck. I was a 1099 independent contractor so I was fine with that. I was a struggling musician when I started because I let fear grip me for so many years and I told the Pastor that I have never done this before and said that all God wants is a willing heart and he will give you the rest. The first year was terrible unlike the guy who started this post I did not play in every key and I had never taught parts before. But this was the divine order of God, God put me in a position to face all of my fears I HAD NO CHOICE and things started coming out of me that I did not know was there. Everything I needed to lead people and teach parts and play was now in full swing. I understood what purpose was all about, my gifts did not kick in until I was in purpose. I grew as a leader but it was tough, after about 3 months my Pastor was on me for singing the same songs over and over but I was like I am just trying to keep things a float. There was no transition for me I was thrown in the fire and had to produce and I did. Then when I got comfortable I st