LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Organ players in Iraq  (Read 783 times)

Offline SWINDOG

• LGM Member

Organ players in Iraq
« on: August 03, 2007, 08:06:00 PM »
Any organ/piano players in Iraq out here with me (Taji).  How do you practice and keep up with the new music.  It is hard for me when I sometimes work 12-14 hours days.  Ive been playing seriously now for about 7 years, but I have been over here 2 times in the last 3 years.  So when I get back to TX it is like I am playing catch up, with other musicians!  Anybody with some good practice tips, give me a holla.  God Bless and keep me in your prayers. 
Swindog
MR. Hammond Organ

Offline baggettcindy

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Organ players in Iraq
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2007, 05:47:23 AM »
I was at Camp Victory Iraq a few months ago.  A lot of times the chapel has a keyboard....On one other deployment I brought my own.  How long are you going to be over there?  How long have you been there already?  If you stil have a while to go and don't have access to the chapel keyboard, I think you should order a cheapie from Musician's Friends..they ship to APO addresses.  With your work schedule I know it's hard, but maybe you could dedicate an hour after your shift.  Oh....stay safe!!!

Offline SWINDOG

• LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2007, 04:01:19 PM »
I have been over here for 13 months already and 2 more to go since we got the 3 month extension.  I should be home sometime in Oct, hopefully if we dont get another extension.  I have my little keyboard over here, and do a little practice.  But I have learned that you practice better in the morning or when you arent tired.  I find myself sometimes getting sloppy on posture and movement. Thanks 
Swindog
MR. Hammond Organ

Offline musician2005

• LGM Member

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2007, 06:35:02 PM »