LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What to do when you're on a cd project as lead soloist...  (Read 1041 times)

Offline brosie

• LGM Member

What to do when you're on a cd project as lead soloist...
« on: June 11, 2006, 07:57:47 PM »
I am new to this, and I feel like a sheep being led by the nose.My ideas are consistantly cut down.I offer to help with songwriting and I am made to feel like thats not my job. I offer to help with clerical duties, anything to feel useful and I am told to just come along for the ride, that it's not my job. I have a song or two that I want to write...and they are relegated to interludes...I want to know what I am supposed to do, I am not putting any money up,this venture is solely the record labels... the record label is new,and they say that I am family but they're treating me like a redheaded stepchild... myproducers and I are supposed to be friends in Christ...the person they want to write my songs has used some of my ideas in songs b4 and I feltl like I had been cast aside afterwards.I am very reticent about even speaking because I have experienced hearing my words come forth VERBATIM out of their mouth...in short, this is a talented person but a spiritual vampire...As a singer, am I supposed to just shut up and sing?Anyone here that has any knowledge of this relationship, please let me know...I really want to do this, but I wanna do it in order...I want to be able to serve God, serve my fellow artists...serve my friends..but it feels like I am pushing past my limits as the soloist...I keep thinking though, this is my voice that's gonna be put out there....should I just be quiet and recieve the songs...what????I am so hurt inside because I just cant seem to understand why my enthusiiasm is being met with such indifference.Sorry y'all... pray for me.

Offline -SOULJAH4JC-

• LGM Member

Re: What to do when you're on a cd project as lead soloist...